USGS Home
USGS Home USGS Home
Contact USGS
Search USGS
 Alaska Geospatial Data Committee
spacer

Subcommittees and Working Groups

The Alaska Geographic Data Committee (AGDC) has two Co-Chairmen, one from the U.S. Geological Survey and one from the State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources (AKDNR).

The USGS Co-Chair is Scott Van Hoff, National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) Geospatial Liaison for Alaska (acting). Mr. Van Hoff's email address is svanhoff@usgs.gov. The AKDNR Co-Chair is Richard McMahon, Chief, Land Records Information System (LRIS). Mr. McMahon's email address is richard.mcmahon@alaska.gov.

AGDC Clearinghouse Working Groups
Click image for a larger view

See the announcement page for meeting dates, times, locations, etc.

Base Cartographic

At present, this Subcommittee is inactive. For more information related to cartographic information, contact:
Greg Durocher
USGS Anchorage Earth Science Information Center (ESIC)
gfdurocher@usgs.gov

Bathymetry

LCDR David Zezula
NOAA Office of Coast Survey
David.j.zezula@noaa.gov

Cadastral

Richard McMahon
State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources
Land Records Information System (LRIS)
richard.mcmahon@alaska.gov

Cadastral Subcommittee

Coastal Shoreline

Joel Cusick, Interim Chair
National Park Service
GIS Specialist/Alaska Regional Office
joel_cusick@nps.gov

Coastal Subcommittee Meeting Notes - 23 January 2008 (35KB MSWord doc)

Coastal Subcommitee Meeting Notes - 17 November 2008

Issues Briefing on Shoreline Mapping and Delineation in Alaska (268KB MSWord doc)

NOAA's Gravity Mapping Project page. GRAV-D models developed over Alaska shorelines will provide for the first time a fast and accurate tie to true heights. Once true heights are established VDatum tools will allow conversion among multiple vertical datums.

GRAV-D Summer 2008 Summer Acquisition Status Graphic (865KB JPEG Image)

NOAA's 2008 Coastal Mapping Project. This is an APRN radio broadcast from July 17, 2008. Download the excellent broadcast here http://aprn.org/2008/07/17/hydropalooza-has-begun-in-kachemak-bay/

Alaska Shoreline Hall of Shame. Examples from Alaska National Park and Preserve Shorelines.
Joel Cusick compiled several examples of GIS shorelines along National Parks in Alaska. These examples comparing typical statewide coastal datasets "coast63", versus on-ground GPS photo identifiable features and IKONOS 1 meter ortho-rectified imagery. Discussion on types of errors includes scaler, datedness and automation errors.

Digital Orthoimagery (DOQ)

Garth Olson
Bureau of Land Management
Alaska State Office
garth_olson@ak.blm.gov

Orthoimagery Workshop - December 13, 2005

Earth Cover

Dave Selkowitz
USGS Alaska Science Center
dselkowitz@usgs.gov

Geologic

At present, this Subcommittee is inactive. For more information related to geology, contact:

Nora Shew
USGS Alaska Science Center
Mineral Resources Team
nshew@usgs.gov

LiDAR/IFSAR

Hans Andersen
U.S. Forest Service
handersen@fs.fed.us

Ben Jones
USGS Alaska Science Center
bjones@usgs.gov

LiDAR/IFSAR Subcommittee Meeting Notes - 15 January 2008

Soils

At present, this Subcommittee is inactive. For more information regarding soils, contact:

Ted Cox
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Natural Resources Conservation Service
ted.cox@ak.usda.gov

Transportation

Kerry Kirkpatrick
State of Alaska Department of Transportation/Public Facilities
kerry.kirkpatrick@alaska.gov

Transportation Subcommittee

Water/Hydrography

Scott Van Hoff
NSDI Geospatial Liaison for Alaska (acting)
svanhoff@usgs.gov

National Hydrography Dataset (NHD)

NHD Edit Tools Demonstration Meeting Notes - December 8, 2006

Alaska Aquatic Resources

Wetlands

Jerry Tande
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
jerry_tande@fws.gov

At present, this Subcommittee is inactive.

spacer


AGDC Home | Information | Datasets | Tools | Links | Contacts

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: https://agdc.usgs.gov/info/subcomm.html
Page Contact Information: agdcweb@usgs.gov
Page Last Modified: Wednesday, 07-Dec-2016 11:08:09 AKST